Both student-athletes and coaches made their way into the record books during the 2021-22 year in athletics. Our teams and athletes carried on a tradition of excellence.

Jacob Sekiyoba ’22

What a year it was for Bishop Montgomery athletics. In fact, it was a record-breaking year. In all, seven programs won league titles, 13 individual league titles were secured, and 14 teams qualified for CIF-SS playoffs, as did several individuals in golf, swimming, tennis, and track & field. Individually, school records were broken, or tied, in a number of sports.

Jacob Sekiyoba ’22 put his name in the record book during football season. In a win against Bolsa Grande, Sekiyoba tied the record for most rushing TD’s in a game (5), a record he shares with Koury Clark ’92, Nolan Plummer ’11, Michael Turner ’13 and Robbie Hou ’14.

Jalen Vazquez ’22

On January 30, 2022, Jalen Vazquez ’22 set a new school record for assists in a game when he had 16 in a 74-58 win against Cathedral High School. Vazquez broke the previous record of 15 assists, which was shared by Fred Washington ’03 and Justin Bibbins ’14.

Chase Couig ’22 tied 14 other baseball players when he hit two home runs in a game against Cantwell-Sacred Heart on April 13, 2022. Couig’s second home run of the game was a grand slam that ended the contest, giving the Knights the 13-0 mercy rule win. 

Francesca Villaneda ’22

Francesca Villaneda ’22 added her name to the softball record book. In March against La Salle, she set a new single game record for RBI when she drove in 9 in a 17-0 win. She also set a new single season record in batting average (.642) and she shattered the old record of 33 RBI’s by driving in 50 on the season. The previous record was by Stacey Shire ’83.

Villaneda’s teammate, Lily Burns ’23 also made her way into the record books when she tied the single season softball record for triples with 7. She joins Alexandria Davis ’09 and Madi Jacobus ’19 (twice) in the record book.

It was another record-breaking year for the girls’ and boys’ swim teams as 10 records were broken. The girls’ relay team of Makena Nansen ’23, Michaela Toland ’22, Brianna Davis ’22 and Noelle Kondon ’22 (left to right in photo above) set three records – 200 Medley Relay, 200 Freestyle Relay & 400 Freestyle Relay.  Nansen and Jack O’Shaughnessy ’24 each broke multiple individual records. Nansen broke her own school records in the 100 Butterfly and 100 Backstroke. O’Shaughnessy broke three records – 200 Individual Medley, 100 Butterfly and 100 Backstroke. He finished 4th in the 100 Backstroke at the CIF-SS Division 3 finals. The boys’ swimmers also broke two relay records during the season. At CIF Prelims, O’Shaughnessy, Eric Zhou ’24, Davide Ciuffoli ’23 and Aiden Hunter ’24 set a new record in the 200 Medley Relay. Their day was not done at the CIF Prelims as the four swimmers broke the school record in the 400 Freestyle Relay, a record that stood since 1975 (Bob Appell ’75, Michael Ashe ‘75, Mark Bennedetti ‘76, Ron Cote ‘75).

In April, alumna Rheina Ale ‘08 was named the 19th Girls’ Basketball Head Coach in program history. She takes over for Noelle Quinn ‘03. Quinn served as head coach from 2016-2022, but her expanded duties as head coach of the Seattle Storm (WNBA) and as lead assistant coach for the Canadian Senior Women’s National Team prompted her to step away as head coach. Ale was a 4-year varsity standout for the Lady Knights. She was the 2007-08 Del Rey League MVP, a 3-time all-league and 2-time All-CIF selection. She is 9th in school history in scoring with 1,477 points. After her senior year, she was named 2008 Female Athlete-of-the-Year. After graduation, Ale attended the University of San Francisco where she was a 4-year starter and an All-WCC performer.

(L to R): Finley Rollins ’22, Derek Murphy ’22, Chloe Williams ’22, Kyle Sugimoto ’22

In the fall, four student-athletes made their college commitments official when they signed letters-of-intent to continue their athletic careers. (L to R): Finley Rollins ’22 (Beach Volleyball / UC Davis); Derek Murphy ’22 (Baseball / Cal State East Bay); Chloe Williams ’22 (Basketball / University of Tulsa); and Kyle Sugimoto ’22 (Baseball / Occidental College) signed in front of family and friends. In the winter, four more student-athletes signed letters-of-intent to play in college. Jacob Forster ’22 (Basketball / Dominican University, Illinois); Chase Couig ’22 (Football / Carthage College); Francesca Villaneda ’22 (Softball / University of Mary); Elyse Day ’22 (Volleyball / University of Dallas). Just prior to Easter break, another student-athlete made his college decision official. Jacob Sekiyoba ’22 signed a letter-of-intent to play football at Colorado State University, Pueblo.

On March 15, 2022, Chase Couig ’22 and Andrew Morales ’22 combined to throw the 23rd no-hitter in BMHS history in the Knights’ 2-1 win over Cantwell-SHM. Couig went 6 innings, striking out 3; Morales pitched the 7th inning, striking out 2 batters to get the save. Coincidentally, the previous no-hitter thrown in the baseball program was also a combined no-hitter. In 2015, four BMHS pitchers – Tim Bever ’15, Austin Cole ’15, Titus Naeole ’15 and Nathan Draves ’17 – did not allow a run in a 4-0 win at home against St. Monica.

Lisa Lewis ’79 and Coach Carlos Cooper will be inducted into the BMHS Athletic Hall of Fame on September 30, 2022 along with Mollie Meehan-Baumer ’86, Niu Sale ’88 and Alumni Parents/Supporters Bob Blackburn, Al Egnatuk, George Graham and Ganus Ramstead. Complete information at

On March 30, 2022, former BMHS boys’ and girls’ tennis coach Dan Wooten (far left) passed away unexpectedly. While at BMHS, Wooten led both the boys’ and girls’ tennis programs to great success. He coached the boys’ team for four seasons (2012-2015), compiling a record of 47-18 and winning four league titles. He coached the girls’ team for three seasons (2012-2014) and had an overall record of 30-11. His girls’ teams each won a league title as well. During his time at BMHS, his student-athletes won four league singles titles and five league doubles titles and he guided all his teams to the CIF playoffs.